Ghana 2018 AWCON: Dennerby invites Oshoala, Oparanozie, Nnadozie, 45 others to camp

Super Falcons

Super Falcons Coach, Thomas Dennerby has invited 48 players for the preliminary phase of camping ahead of the 11th Caf Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) billed for Ghana from November 17 to December 1, 2018 in Accra and Cape Coast.

The 48-man list include 29 foreign-based and 19 homebased professionals.

China-based reigning African Woman Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala tops the list of invited players alongside ace forward Desire Oparanozie and 2018-19 UEFA Women’s Champions League campaigners, Ngozi Ebere, Esther Sunday Charity Adule and Chinwendu Ihezuo.

Impressive Falconets’ duo at the 2018 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup, goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie and defender Glory Ogbonna also made the cut.

Others are; goalkeepers Alaba Jonathan and Tochukwu Oluehi, defenders Joy Jegede and Onome Ebi, midfielders Halimat Ayinde and Osarenoma Igbinovia and forwards Francisca Ordega and Anam Imo.

All the players have been asked to report to the team’s base camp at the Jubilee Chalets, Chalet Road, off Obafemi Awolowo Road, Epe Town, Lagos on Thursday, October 18.

The Super Falcons are the defending champions of the biennial tournament, after defeating hosts, Cameroon 1-0 in the 2016 final, to take their trophy haul to eight in 10 editions.

The Africa women football giant qualified to defend their title in Ghana, after spanking their Gambian counterparts in the two-legged qualifying fixture 7-0 on aggregate.

The Draw for the eight –nation championship has been scheduled for Sunday, October 21, 2018.


Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels)
Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens)
Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens)
Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens)

Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels)
Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens)
Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons) Maureen Okpala (Confluence Queens)
Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons)
Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons)
Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus)
Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons)
Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden)
Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China)
Juliet Lorliam (Nasarawa Amazons)
Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden)
Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Christy Ucheibe (Nasarawa Amazons); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars)
Peace Efih (Edo Queens)
Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens); Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Nneka Julius (Edo Queens)
Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens)
Mary Anjor (Osun Babes)
Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden)
Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Charity Adule (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden)
Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden)

Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo Queens)
Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons)
Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels)
Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens)
Chioma Wogu (Rivers Angels)
Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens)
Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France);
Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal)
Ebere Orji (Mallbackens Lysvik, Sweden); Esther Sunday (Konak Belediyespor)
Uchechi Sunday; Courtney Dike (Oklahoma City, USA); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.